A Christmas tradition no more…

Over the last week or two my wife and I have struggled to get the tree up and decorated, Christmas cards created and out the door and amongst everything else find time to do some shopping. Once again we will be struggling to finish our appointed rounds by the 25th. I know we are not alone.

Each year at this time I am remained of a story my dad told me about Christmas and his childhood.
My dad was the oldest of three boys and when they were young Christmas did not exist in their house in the weeks and days leading up to the 25th. No tree, no garland, no Nativity scene. Nothing. This was not because my grandparents were Mr. & Mrs. Grinch. In fact, if you knew them you’d know they were just the opposite. It was about making Christmas a special event for their three boys and miraculously they would wake up on the 25th and their entire home would be decorated. A tree with ornaments, presents wrapped, Nativity scene – the whole enchilada. It was as if Santa had come down their chimney and decorated the entire house – which is exactly what his parents wanted them to believe.

Bloody amazing and more importantly, how did they do it!

I’ve done the all-nighter on the 24th/25th, wrap the presents, build the bike, eat the cookie for Santa – but toss in trim the tree and decorate the house?!?!? We’d be celebrating Christmas on December 28th. I know and appreciate that life was not as complicated ‘way back when’, but no matter what or how un-complicated life is, I still think this was an amazing accomplishment.

Someday, just once, I may decide to try it at our home.

Of course I’d use an artificial tree and inflatable nativity scene, but it’s the thought that counts.

Leave a comment